November 25, 2017, 03:26:27 AM

Author Topic: Locations for wilderness survival in Canada plus some Q's  (Read 1834 times)

Offline spetz

• Lookout
Locations for wilderness survival in Canada plus some Q's
« on: February 16, 2007, 12:33:42 PM »
I am new to this whole thing i am looking for some places to start my wilderness camping. I live next door to Toronto so I am looking for some places to go to. I know i could go to Algonquin Park for backpacking, but thats a far trek with out a car or having to get a ride and I could also go to red lake but thats really far. So any good suggestions for places to go? I am really at a loss because most places only have the specified camp grounds etc.

Another thing what are the legalities with trapping in Canada when out on a wilderness survival, because i realize being in a survival situation and placing your self in to one is different.

While im asking questions, for those of you who do take sleeping bags but no tent etc... do you use a bivy bag, or have a special sleeping bag or something else because mine would get damaged really easily but maybe its just the design. So any suggestions here thanks.
Tim - Spetz - FireBug

Even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil; For You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me. [Psalm 23:4]

Offline bobimbob

• Master Scout
Re: Locations for wilderness survival in Canada plus some Q's
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2007, 12:41:55 PM »